Junior Equestrian of the Year

Ruth O'Keefe Meredith Memorial Trophy

Ms. O'Keefe was a valued member of the Federation and a nationally recognized figure in the horseshowing world. She was awarded the Walter B. Devereux Memorial trophy, the Federation's prestigious award. In April of 1985, the Board of Directors of the Federation established the Ruth O'Keefe Meredith Memorial Trophy for the Junior Equestrian of the Year.

Criteria: Awarded to a junior member of the Federation in good standing who:

- Has competed at one or more USEF-recognized competitions during the last year.
- Personifies the virtues of honor, courage, patience, good temper, unselfishness, and sincerity.
- Exhibits the qualities of good sportsmanship and integrity.
- Exemplifies exceptional talent and dedication to the sport.
- Shows compassion for horses and horses' welfare

Selection of Winner: The Awards Committee is presented with the list of nominees and biographical information provided by the nominee (a resume including both equestrian and academic accomplishments) and a short letter or essay (topic to be chosen by the Awards Committee). Applicants are encouraged to provide information in all areas. The committee will narrow down the list of nominees to 3-4 and will interview those individuals.

Award: Trophy given at the Pegasus Awards Dinner during the annual meeting.

Timeline: Mailings will be sent to National Breed/Discipline Affiliates and Committees containing informational packets and nomination forms. In the event insufficient nominations are received by the Breed/Discipline Affiliates and Committees, USEF Marketing and Sports Staff may put nominations forward. Nominations will be accepted starting in **September** with a deadline for submission of **October 18**. **Nominators are responsible for submitting the nominees.**

After this, all the nominees will be contacted and asked for their resumes and essays, the deadline for submittal will be set at that time. Once received, the resumes and essays are then sent to each of the Awards Committee members and a conference call will be set up to discuss and choose the nominees to be interviewed. In the middle of November, the chosen nominees will be interviewed by the panel, and the winner is chosen by the Awards Committee immediately following. At this time an official notice will be sent to the winner via email.

Perpetual Trophy: Silver-plated platter

Past Winners:

2018	Isabela De Sousa	2022	Skylar Wireman
2019	Julia Stone	2023	Marin McKee
2020	Lucy Enns		
2021	Sophia Huffman		